Home » 2016 Farm Women’s Conference & Awards

2016 Farm Women’s Conference & Awards

Congratulations to the recipients of the

2016 Farm Woman of the Year Awards:



Modern Farm Woman

(click here to read more)



Pioneer Farm Woman

(click here to read more)

The following people and businesses contributed to making the

33rd Annual Farm Women’s Conference & Awards another great success:




Agriculture For Life                             Alberta Milk                                    Anne’s Fine Dining
Arbonne (Jenn Oba)                             Aspen Ag. Foods                                                   ATCO
Athabasca Burger Bar            Athabasca District Agriculture Society      Athabasca Floor Centre
Athabasca Health Foods                Athabasca Home Hardware    Athabasca Hometown Printing
Athabasca Landing Services        Athabasca Outdoor Products                  Athabasca Registries
Athabasca Veterinary Services              Athabasca Video                Avon (Marianne Cumbleton)
B & R Eckel’s Transport                 Boven’s Jewelry & Giftware                                 Boyle Co-op
Boyle Veterinary Services                    Bumper to Bumper                                 BUNGE Canada
Buttons Up Ltd.                                         Buy Low Foods                                        Canadian Tire
C.I.B.C. (Athabasca)                                  Cheap Seats                                Clover Valley Honey
Colinton General Store                              Colinton Hotel        Crop Productions Services (Boyle)
Cuts & Curls                            Crop Production Services (Westlock)                 D & L Automotive
Deerland Equipment                    Dr. W. Cummings Optometrist                          Domino’s Pizza
Doreen & Concella                       E & D Kuzyk Konstruction Ltd                                Elle’s Closet
Flowers by Christina                                 49th Street Grill                 Great Canadian Dollar Store
Gustafson’s Auto Clinic                        Hi Pro Services Ltd.                                    Hunter Motors
Kal Tire                                               Lakeland Wild Rice Ltd.                   L & B Speers Organics
Lincoln County Oilfield                           Love is in the Hair                     Martin & Romanchuk Chartered Accts
McEwen’s Fuel                                           Mike’s Pizza                                             Mobetta Vac
Mr. V’s Field & Forest                                Muriel Yashuk                          North Central Livestock
Ole Farms Ltd.                                      Paddy Melons Gifts       Partylite Candles (Helen Goertz)
Pembina River Natural Gas                Perryvale Ladies Club                       Quilting for Humanity
Remax Results                                 Rochester Grocery Store               Rochester Egg Hatchery
Rocky Mountain Equipment         Royal LePage County Realty    Sals Famous Pizza & Donairs
Seeds of Hope                                        Semalta Services                     SS Athabasca Car Wash
Super 8 Athabasca                                       The Brick                                        The Flower Shop
Tipton’s Independent Foods              Tupperware (Isabelle Rogers)              UFA Fuels
UFA Farm Supply                                       Unique Stock Farm            Value Drug Mart (Athabasca)
Value Drug Mart (Boyle)                  Westlock Grain Terminals       Westlock Veterinary Services
White Thunder Trucking


Cheryl Balay, Seeds of Hope; Debbie Hammond, Alberta Health Services; Irene Fitzsimmons, Health Families Healthy Futures & Kim Lewis, Family and Community Support Services; Michael Schulz, Portage Collage; Hazel Butterworth, Healing Hearts Centre; Ken Valgardson, Comedian, Call Back Corporate Entertainment

It takes many hands to host a successful event and the conference would not have been the same without:

  • Trevor Yurchak, Royal Lepage County Realty, Awesome Emcee
  • Yvonne Doroshenko & Ladies for the tasty and bountiful meal and snacks
  • Athabasca District Agriculture Society, Shelly Younker for accommodating our requests
  • Hanna Lawson, Reporter, Athabasca Advocate
  • Victor Kaisar, 94.1 The River
  • Village of Boyle & Athabasca Value Drug Mart, ticket vendors
  • Lone Star Metal Art & Creations, David Guthrie, award gate signs
  • Flowers by Christina, beautiful award creations
  • The Elders from Latter Day Saints Church for extra hands with set up and take down
  • Ron Jackson, Karl Kopan, Saket Sakharikar, and Norm De Wet; technical & promotional assistance and manpower support from Athabasca County.

Thanks to Quilting for Humanity and Hope Haven Women’s Shelter for being onsite and to everyone at the conference who contributed to these worthy organizations.


Please remember to start planning your 2017 nomination for the MODERN and PIONEER Farm Woman of the Year award!

We will call for nominations again early in the fall. The 34th Annual Farm Women’s Conference & Awards will be held in Rochester in 2018.

Farm Women’s Conference Planning Committee:

Sue Anderson, Lorraine Gislason, Barb Hall, Joyce Handfield, Tracy Morey, Mary Schmid, Roxanne Senyk, Bonnie Speers, Sonja Spence, Doris Splane, Maria Wallach